+1
Answered

What happens if I cancel a vendor job (classic projects)?

Meghan Cooper 2 years ago in Vendor Portal updated 2 years ago 4

The job now says "canceled" and is grayed out, but the vendor name is still pulled in and PO amount is the same, and the job is marked as invoiceable. How does this affect invoicing and what the vendor sees in the vendor portal (jobs and invoices)? Will they still receive the invoice?

Answer

Answer
Under review

Canceled items (Tasks or Jobs) are excluded from margin & ROI calculations.

This allows to keep the Receivables and Payables intact (perhaps even invoice them).


On the other hand, you can mark a single item (Task or Job) as not invoiceable, so that you see the entire margin & ROI, but you won't actually invoice.


About the PO: once a job is canceled, it's not available in the Vendor Portal, so the PO isn't available either. Of course, if you sent it with email, someone might retain the PO pdf itself.


It will also be downloadable in the Home Portal, despite the job being canceled. 

Also, how does this affect the overall project margin? If we do not want to pay the vendor (because they were late) is it best to just remove the vendor? I had left that in and created a new job for a new vendor so that an evaluation for the (cancelled) job could still be made.

Answer
Under review

Canceled items (Tasks or Jobs) are excluded from margin & ROI calculations.

This allows to keep the Receivables and Payables intact (perhaps even invoice them).


On the other hand, you can mark a single item (Task or Job) as not invoiceable, so that you see the entire margin & ROI, but you won't actually invoice.


About the PO: once a job is canceled, it's not available in the Vendor Portal, so the PO isn't available either. Of course, if you sent it with email, someone might retain the PO pdf itself.


It will also be downloadable in the Home Portal, despite the job being canceled. 

Thanks Maciej! When you say it allows to keep the Payables in tact, do you mean for other vendors on the same project? It doesn't seem like it would be the one whose job was cancelled if I'm understanding correctly. So the PO of a cancelled job will be downloadable on the PM side (Home Portal), but not on the vendor side (Vendor Portal) (understood that they may have kept the PO PDF in an email).

If a job is set as non-invoiceable, does that mean a vendor may download a PO from the vendor portal, but not an invoice?


We find these settings and options very helpful for the various situations we may encounter, I just want to make sure I understand all aspects of using them! :)